meditation MP3 files

binaural beats, the Schumann Resonance, brain waves, et al.

http://www.jetcityorange.com/meditation/ 

Buddha statue in TX garden I meditate. My inspiration is Tibetan Buddhism as taught by His Holiness the Dalai Lama. As I began to sit, the nerd in me read up on things like the relaxation response, brain waves, binaural beats, the Schumann Resonance, psychoacoustics, entrainment, and neurofeedback. I created a series of meditation MP3 files.

These are simple and direct meditation aids. There is no spiritual teaching being transmitted. All of the MP3’s are designed to help you relax. There’s nothing subliminal or hidden about them. In fact, they’re “open source” in that I describe exactly what they are and thereby how you could reproduce them yourself.

Nothing beats a teacher. Use these files as meditation training wheels. They free, they work, and they’ll get you started. Start where you’re comfortable, take what you need, then share them with others.

Starting with a small step, try listening to crickets 07oct06. As the name clearly states, it’s 3 minutes of crickets chirping. Don’t laugh until you’ve tried it. Not only is it quite relaxing, it can be used to shall we say, “set the mood”, as well.
crickets 07oct06 (2.75 megs)

A good place to start if you’ve never meditated before is Talk Me Into It. It features me coaching you into a calm, relaxed state, using autogenic phrases and other relaxation prompts. It’s only 5:25 long (to accomodate my impatient kids’ request). The result is a very straightforward guided meditation; quick and to the point. Headphones optional but highly recommended.
Talk Me Into It (4.96 megs)  •  (a 30 second sample)

water flowerMy first goal was to focus inwards, shutting out the outside world. Brown Inside is a set of MP3’s of brown noise. The sound appears to come from inside your head because the right channel is the inverse of the left channel. FYI: brown noise, sometimes called random walk noise or drunkard’s walk noise, has an energy density at a given frequency inversely proportional to the square of the frequency (1/f^2). Or to my ears, it sounds better than white noise or pink noise. Choose from 10-, 15-, or 20-minute versions. Headphones necessary.
Brown 10 Inside (9.1 MB)   Brown 15 Inside (13.6 MB)   Brown 20 Inside (18.2 MB)   (a 30 second sample)


I created the Nada Brahma MP3’s as a way to increase one’s alpha brainwaves. Alpha brainwaves are associated with a relaxed, meditative, dream-like state and are between 8 Hz and 12 Hz as measured by EEG. Nada Brahma uses binaural beats to increase alpha brainwaves. The right and left channels start out with slightly different frequencies, 10 Hz apart (the Berger Rhythm). Our brain “hears” the difference, the binaural beat. You must listen to these MP3’s using headphones in order “hear” the binaural beat. The base frequency I use is 136.1 Hz, the sound of Om. Choose from 10-, 15-, or 20-minute versions.
Nada Brahma X10 (2.71 MB)   Nada Brahma X15 (4.08 MB)   Nada Brahma X20 (5.45 MB)   (a 30 second sample)

carin, Alki, West Seattle WA The Schumann Resonance is the frequency of the Earth at 7.83 Hz. Kung Schumann mixes the Chinese fundamental frequency at 344.12 Hz with a binaural beat at the Schumann Resonance. Choose from 10-, 15-, or 20-minute versions. Headphones necessary.
Kung Schumann 10 (2.38 MB)   Kung Schumann 15 (3.52 MB)   Kung Schumann 20 (4.66 MB)   (a 30 second sample)

Recently I felt I didn’t need training wheels, merely a meditation timer. So I created a trio of almost very simple MP3’s: a chunk of silence with a chime at the end. Pretty straightforward. Choose from a 10-, 15-, or 20-minute version.
10 Timer (2.43 MB)   15 Timer (3.64 MB)   20 Timer (4.86 MB)

If you download and use any or all of the files, please send me your feedback. Friends and family have reported that they work. I’ve developed them based on my own experiences. Hearing from you will help me immensely.

Thanks and good luck to us all on our paths.

Om mani padme hum.
No claims, guarantees, warranties, or promises implied or otherwise are made about the above techniques. This information and the associate MP3 files are provided for educational and reference purposes only. Consult your medical caregiver(s) if you have questions, pre-exisiting conditions, or other concerns.

22 thoughts on “meditation MP3 files

  1. I tried one of your binaural beat files, the one that is supposed to take your brain waves down from 25 hz to 4 hz (‘Total Sweep’ – 20 mins).

    Now, I was already tired so I can’t say for sure that the file was solely responsible, but I was out for the count before the file finished.

    I have used another BB file from another source (7.83 Schumann), and that one always gets me into the state of mind just before sleep completely takes over where your dreams can leak into your conscious awareness.

    The Schumann file doesn’t make me fall completely asleep however, just very relaxed, so that kind of matches up with what the different brainwave patterns are supposed to do: 7.8 hz = very relaxed, 4 hz = sleep.

    I will try ‘Total Sweep’ again when I’m not so sleepy to know for sure. Thanks.

  2. One question: I have read that the ‘bit rate’ of a binaural beat mp3 can reduce its effectiveness if it is too low (<192 kbps).

    I noticed that some of the files you have kindly made available for download have a 96 or 128 kbps bit rate. Would this detract from the files being able to achieve their objectives?

  3. Are you looking for information on safe relaxation drinks? Recently articles have been pushed bringing into question the safety of relaxation drinks that use Melatonin. The blog at hubpages, talks about this and gives a clear recommendantion

  4. Just what I’ve been looking for also. I’ve been determined to meditate every morning without much luck. Now I look forward to it. I also love the timer, I’ve been wanting one of these for some time.

    Years ago I started listening to Holosync that uses binaural beats. I didn’t care for their Alpha CD but I enjoy these Alpha waves very much. I’ve also found that listening to their Theta wave CD reduces high pain levels dramatically. As someone who has lived with severe chronic pain for 11 years I swear by it, and won’t go anywhere without my Theta CD. I think it takes some trial and error to find just the right binaural beats for each individual.

  5. Its like you read my mind! You seem to grasp so much approximately this, such
    as you wrote the ebook in it or something. I believe that you
    just could do with some percent to force the message home
    a little bit, but other than that, this is fantastic blog.

    A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

  6. Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m
    thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thank you

Leave a Reply

